Notre Dame Academy Celebrates Class of 2019

Notre Dame Academy celebrated its Class of 2019 Baccalaureate Mass and Commencement Exercises on Thursday, May 15, 2019 at Queen of the Most Holy Rosary Cathedral. Senior Sarah Watson (left) is the valedictorian for the Class of 2019 and Erin Bollin (right) is salutatorian.

These 144 young women are familiar faces throughout the community since they have collectively volunteered over 15,600 hours of service locally, nationally in Appalachia, and internationally in Dominica Republic. Notre Dame Academy was the first, Catholic, all-girls school in Ohio and is the only school in Northwest Ohio to offer the prestigious International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma Program. The Class of 2019 had both IB Full Diploma and IB Certificate graduates.

The Sisters of Notre Dame Distinguished Graduate Award was presented to Hope Thayer who has exemplified the Notre Dame Spirit through academic performance, service to those in the school and community, and strives to live the Gospel values in daily life. She has also been named Commended in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The Blue and Gold Spirit Award was presented to Grace Bennett a student who has consistently manifested a spirit of selflessness and commitment in support of her classmates and the ideals of Notre Dame Academy.

The President’s Award was presented to Julia Loeb who has exemplified the Notre Dame Academy spirit of leadership and service.

The highest honor bestowed upon any high school graduate of any Catholic high school in the Diocese of Toledo is the Bishop’s Cross and was awarded to Bridget Bishop who clearly strives to love God with all her heart, soul, mind and strength.

Honors for those seniors who had a record of perfect attendance for four years were bestowed to seniors Erin Bollin, Emily Vining, Madeline Vining.

The President’s Education Award for educational excellence sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals recognizes those students who have achieved high academic goals as demonstrated through high standardized test scores and academic achievement.  Certificates are awarded to the following seniors.

Suneina Badoni, Grace Bennett, Reagan Bertke, Erin Bollin, Olivia Duet, Kylie Foetisch, Anna Haudrich, Nighui (Rosie) Li
Julia Loeb, Mallory Mishler, Kathryn Roth, Katelyn Schoen, Hope Thayer and Sarah Watson.

Honor cords were bestowed upon those students who had completed the full IB Diploma program. This accomplishment includes taking 12 college level courses their junior/ senior year, in addition to taking the Theory of Knowledge course, completing a two-year project on Creativity, Action, and Service, and writing a 4,000 word Extended Essay covering one of the five core subject areas.

Hanna Ahmad, Raven Begell-Long, Suneina Badoni, Erin Bollin, Olivia Duet, Kayla Goolsby, Manar Kashk, Margaret Maume
August Miller, Adaeze Ogbonna, Katelyn Schoen, Rylee Soulis, Hope Thayer, Sarah Watson, Yunxuan(Sky)Wu

The Class of 2019 earned $14.5 million in college scholarships and awards. Students were accepted at 131 colleges and universities, in 32 states, including such top universities as the University of Notre Dame, Washington University in St. Louis, University of California, Berkeley, Johns Hopkins University, Emory University, Georgetown University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Wellesley College.  International acceptances came from King’s College, London England and University of St. Andrews, St. Andrews Scotland. See below for a complete list of colleges and universities where NDA students were accepted.

  • Adrian College
    Alabama State University
    Albion College
    Albright College
    American University
    Arizona State University
    Ashland University
    Auburn University
    Ave Maria University
    Baldwin Wallace University
    Barry University
    Baylor University
    Belmont University
    Bowling Green State University
    Bowling Green State University,
    Firelands College
    Butler University
    Capital University
    Case Western Reserve University
    Central Michigan University
    Central State University
    Chaminade University of Honolulu
    Clark Atlanta University
    Cleveland State University
    Columbia College
    Creighton University
    DePaul University
    Duquesne University
    Durham University
    Earlham College
    Eastern Michigan University
    Emory University
    Florida Gulf Coast University
    Florida State University
    Franciscan University of Steubenville
    Georgetown University
    Goshen College
    Hollins University
    Huntington University
    Indiana University at Bloomington
    John Carroll University
    Johns Hopkins University
    Johnson & Wales University, Providence
    Kent State University
    Kenyon College
    King’s College London
    Lake Erie College
    Lake Forest College
    Lourdes University
    Loyola University Chicago
    Marquette University
    Mercy College of Northwest Ohio
    Merrimack College
    Miami University, Oxford
    Michigan State University
    Midway University
    North Carolina State University
    Northeastern University
    Nova Southeastern University
    Ohio Northern University
    Ohio University

  • Ohio University – Heritage College
    of Osteopathic Medicine
    Otterbein University
    Owens Community CollegePennsylvania State University
    Pepperdine University
    Purdue University
    Quinnipiac University
    Robert Morris University
    Saint Louis University
    School of the Art Institute of Chicago
    Seattle University
    Seton Hall University
    Siena Heights University
    St. John’s University
    The College of Saint Rose
    The College of Wooster
    The George Washington University
    The Ohio State University
    The Ohio State University at Lima
    The Ohio State University at Mansfield
    The Ohio State University at Marion
    The University of Alabama
    The University of Akron
    The University of Arizona
    The University of Findlay
    The University of North Carolina
    at Chapel Hill
    The University of Tampa
    Thiel College
    Tiffin University
    University of California, Berkeley
    University of California, Davis
    University of Central Florida
    University of Cincinnati
    University of Dayton
    University of Detroit Mercy
    University of Evansville
    University of Florida
    University of Hartford
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    University of Indianapolis
    University of Kentucky
    University of Michigan
    University of Minnesota
    University of Notre Dame
    University of Oregon
    University of the Sciences in Philadelphia
    University of South Carolina
    University of St. Andrews
    University of Tennessee
    University of Toledo
    University of Washington
    University of Wisconsin
    Valparaiso University
    Villanova University
    Washington University in St. Louis
    Wellesley College
    Wheaton College
    Whitman College
    Wright State University
    Xavier University
    Youngstown State University